

Annual General Meeting on May 7th 2024

Attendees: Andy Dunkers (Acting Chairman), Michael Corfield (Treasurer), John Cypher, Dorothy Snaddon, Richard Woodward, Cllr Alan Bailes (Bromsgrove DC), Maggie Moore, Brian Jones, James McManus, Wendy Easter, Tom Webb, Tim Edwards, Martin Miller (Secretary).

Apologies received from: Pete Cain, Cllr Marc Worrall, Cllr Barry Thornton, Margaret Rollason, Sandy Jenkinson, Pauline Knight

Approval of Minutes

The minutes of the meeting held on May 2nd 2023 were approved.

Matters Arising from the Minutes. John Cypher commented that the new owner of the Gravel Pit had indicated that it might be open to the public on a limited basis and the RGA should contact the owner to see if this will be the case (**Action**).

Chairperson's report.

Through the preceding year, the position of Chair has rotated around members of the Executive Committee. This has worked well and can continue to do so, but having a single person in the role would have clear benefits for continuity and as contact point for external organisations.

Village membership of the RGA is c.70%. This year it has been particularly pleasing to see higher attendance and engagement at the bimonthly meetings. This has been helped by the regular attendance of APC representatives (Councillors Mark Worrall and Barry Thornton) as well as Alan Bailes, our District Councillor. Thanks to them all for taking time out in their busy schedules to contribute directly to our village discussions.

During the last twelve months the RGA has been involved with a range of issues. Monitoring and commenting on planning proposals in or close to the village, where the application is perceived to have a detrimental impact on the village as a whole. Of particular note are those on the Holloway involving the excessively large, new housing project of 46 plus properties at Bordesley Hall and the frequent planning applications around changing use of the property known as Arosa. With regard to Bordesley Hall, RGA Committee members met directly with Wain Homes in February to discuss reinstatement of the heritage wall and lighting, noting that Rowney Green is a dark skies area and hence the village preference is for no lighting.

Engagement with Worcestershire County Highways on our detailed written request for the reduction in the village speed limit from 30mph to the safer 20mph (given the mix of pedestrian, equestrian and vehicle users in the narrow and unlit highway) which is still pending. Other highway issues to do with blocked drainage, re-positioning of road signs and excess road side vegetation. Attention to criminal activity including burglary and car theft in the village and involving consideration of potential use of different kinds of camera monitoring technology. Reintroduction of the annual service commemorating the Canadian air crew who died in an air crash in the village in November1943 – this year being the 80th anniversary. There was a sizeable turnout from the village together with ClIr Bailes (BDC), representatives from APC and Brett Shepherd from the Alvechurch Services Association.

Exploration with Worcestershire County Council on the scope for major resurfacing work on the main footpath/bridleway connecting the village with Alvechurch, this being on a scale beyond the regular and excellent efforts of the Parish Footpath Group.

Finally, and on a brighter, seasonal note, the purchase of and distribution to residents of 1,000 daffodil bulbs which made the arrival of spring in the village even more picturesque than usual.

Treasurer's report. A copy was distributed and summarised by the treasurer. £560 accrued from membership subscriptions and there was £95 from donations. Operating profit for the year was £282 with reserves standing at £3076. 137 Houses (70% of total) were members of the RGA with over 90% now subscribing by bank transfer.

Nominations and election of Executive Committee

John Cypher was nominated and elected as Chairperson, ratified by attendees. Michael Corfield to continue as Treasurer, ratified by attendees Andy Dunkers to continue as Vice-Chair, ratified by attendees Martin Miller to continue as Secretary, ratified by attendees. James McManus to continue as Executive Member. Wendy Easter was nominated and elected as Executive Member. Margaret Rollason was nominated and elected as Executive Member.

The AGM was closed at 19:41 hrs.

Date of next AGM – Tuesday May 6th 2025 at 7:30pm